Album Review: Ultraviolet I

by on May 14, 2015




Editor Rating
Hot Scale


Shaun Reeves, Ryan Crosson and Lee Curtiss are prominent effigies in the music industry are now based out of Europe. They came together to form the Visionquest label in 2011 and there has been no looking back since. Known for their rainbow spectrum kind of releases, its no surprise that this compilation take you through many moods. This 3 CD album is a collation of some of the labels most formidable releases and a soulful mix courtsey DJ Three who is a forerunner in the scene. A mature team behind this label has helped create a long lasting imprint that would be hard to match. Deep and mellow housey sounds to hypnotic uplifting techno have all been featured on this label and the list of artists who have released on Visionquest is equally colorful.


CD 1 – Some notable tracks hand picked for part one of the 3 CD compilation are Laura Jone’s Let Me In, the floor burner Dark Song by Tale of Us, Lee Curtiss’s very explicit but thumping number Body Twitch featuring Debbie Rennalds, Fallin’ by Maceo Plex and French & US Duo Benoit & Sergio’s seminal Walk &Talk.

CD 2 – This one is a charming variant of the compilation. My Favorite Robot’s Forest Fires, Chaim’s Underwater, Guy Gerber’s The Mirror Game, and Brett Johnson’s Move Power featuring Ellipsis are all outstanding numbers to watch out for.

CD 3 is a beautiful journey through varied genres that DJ Three has very passionately created for us. It starts of on a moody note. He breathes life into the set slowly progressing into an invariably dark ecelectic vibe. This mix feeds the hunger of a hypnotised dancing monster all but one track at a time. There is an eluding intimacy between every track and the way its been arranged that only a skilled master of the art of music can create. A Million Broken Bikes by Quilla with Three’s Villalobos and Reeves edit is an experimental kinda track that transcends into a dark journey. Konrad Black’s Trophic Cascade encompasses the eccentricity of the mix and Wareika’s Madame Scorpion featuring Derek Kamm switches the mood. Another notable track is Om Namaha Shiva by Butch thats vibrantly uplifting. Powerful numbers like Angel by Ryan Crosson & Tale of Us, U by Clarian and Seclusion by Shaun Reeves & Tuccillo fill the omph factor on this mix.

The vision of the founders of the label who have always been on the quest of  pioneering sounds has lead to artists old and new have a special bond with Visionquest. The label has been and always will be  holy grail of cutting edge music and the Ultraviolet Compilation is a milestone marking its achievement.

CD 1

01 Benoit & Sergio – Walk & Talk
02 Footprintz – Utopia (Ewan Pearson The Tale Of Bolo Brown Re-Trip)
03 Lee Curtiss featuring Debbie Rennalds – Body Twitch
04 Lauren Lane featuring Jaw – Lazer Eyez
05 Maceo Plex – Fallin’
06 Eric Volta & Sebastian Voigt featuring Forrest – Words and Chance
07 Wareika featuring Derek Kammm – Madame Scorpion (Henrick Schwarz Remix)
08 Dinky – Falling Angel (Matthew Styles Remix)
09 Laura Jones – Let Me In
10 Alex Delano & Shaun Reeves featuring Charlotte Carter-Allen – The Breeze
11 Tale Of Us – Dark Song

CD 2

01 Dinky – Blind (Prins Thomas Diskomiks)
02 My Favorite Robot – Forest Fires
03 Qbeck featuring Julia Govor – Alice
04 Guy Gerber – The Mirror Game
05 Subb-an featuring Footprinz – Rain
06 Brett Johnson featuring Ellipsis – Move Power
07 Benoit & Sergio – Your Darkness
08 Rework – Touch
09 Chaim – Underwater
10 Clarian & Guy Gerber – Claire
11 Footprintz – Fear of Numbers (Leo Zero Remix)

CD3 DJ Three ‘Laterna Magika’ Visionquest Mix

01 Quilla – A Million Broken Bikes (Three’s Villalobos & Reeves Edit)
02 Mirko Loko feat. Francesco Tristano – Timeline
03 Konrad Black – Trophic Cascade
04 Quilla – We All Have Shadow (Ryan Crosson Acid Blast Remix)
05 Pezzner – The Island Fantastic
06 Javier Orduna – Addicted Brains
07 Moreon & Baffa – Penzar (Deadbeat Remix)
08 Wareika feat. Derek Kamm – Madame Scorpion
09 Merveille & Crosson – The Day You Left
10 Butch – Om Namaha Shiva
11 Ryan Crosson & Tale Of Us – Angel
12 Rework – Any Other
13 Clarian – U
14 Dinky – Falling Angel (Pepe Bradock’s Detournement au Phlogiston)
15 Footprintz – Fear Of Numbers (Three’s Screwed UP Leo Zero Dub)
16 Riccardo Rizza – Clut
17 Shaun Reeves & Tuccillo – Seclusion

Be the first to comment!
Leave a reply »


You must log in to post a comment